Knowledgebase: Tech Tips 2012-2013
Priority Level Settings
Posted by Steve Asper on 07 October 2013 10:11 PM

Urgency + Impact = Priority Level


Urgency: (Determined by User) The urgency of the incident in regards to how quickly the incident is needed to be resolved.

  • 4-Critical: The department or school cannot provide a critical service to stakeholders

  • 3-High:  The department or school cannot provide a non-critical service to stakeholders, single-user cannot perform a critical job function

  • 2-Medium:  Single-user cannot complete a job function

  • 1-Normal:  No urgency/impact to business services, single-user “how to” or related to a service request.


Impact: (determined by Technology Dept) The impact of the incident in regards to how large (or small) the interruption is to the district area(s) (schools, departments…).

  • 4-Extensive/Widespread:  al l users impacted

  • 3-Significant/Large:  Department(s) and Location(s) impacted, or a significant service is unavailable to stakeholders

  • 2-Moderate/Limited:  Low impact, may be single or multi-user issue where the service is not significant

  • 1-Minor/Localized:  Single-user impact, general break/fix issue with no or little impact


Priority level determines resolution time. Technology Department goals are as follows:

Priority LevelNameResolution Time

4 CriticalImmediate until fixed

3 High24 hours

2 Medium3 days

1 Normal5 days


(0 vote(s))
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
Full Name:
CAPTCHA Verification 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below (we use this to prevent automated submissions).